A Step of Faith by Jessica Sisson

Posted: February 24, 2015 by sarammiller in Evangelism, Faith
Tags: , , ,

In my life there are many people I can say who have shown me the light or been the light to me. But there is one specific person who has made the largest impact in my life and the lives of my family members: my older brother, Brett.

Brett began attending Movement when he was a sophomore in high school, and just like he showed my family, someone showed him what a lifestyle following Jesus could be like. Before I knew it, Brett was bringing friends home every Wednesday and taking them with him to Youth Group. He began to change the way he was living and that caught my family’s attention.

I remember Brett asking if I would like to go with him and his friend Titus to Movement, and I’ve gone ever since! Not long after that, my two younger siblings began attending church services appropriate for their ages on Wednesday evening too.

With consistency and faith, we all worked on getting our dad to come with us to LCC on Sunday mornings, and without a doubt, one Sunday God worked through us and our dad came too.

My family has changed so much since we started attending church at LCC, and I thank God for working in first my brother’s life, and then ours so that we could come to know Christ just like Brett has.

All it takes is a step in faith, like following Jesus, and share it with others. That’s all it takes to evangelize and change the lives of those surrounding you. It’s not always easy but bringing those you love to Christ is a reward that’s worth the challenge.

18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me.19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”  –Matthew 28:18-20 

Leave a comment