Letting Go and Letting God by Ann Pitts

Posted: February 23, 2015 by sarammiller in God, Love
Tags: , , , ,

When I was younger, I received an electric scooter for my twelfth birthday; on that same day, I was outside riding it and next thing I know I’m on the ground and then on the way to the hospital to get stitches in my chin. The scar from that day is still on my chin and will most likely be there for the rest of my life. Some scars,like mine, may be physically visible, but there might be others under our skin, inside of our hearts.

Everyone’s past experiences are different. They may even affect how we view ourselves. Sometimes, the past becomes the present and it starts to affect our everyday lives. I read a book once that gave me a whole new perspective on what holding onto your past can do to you. The book told me to look up the definition of idolatry; it goes something like this: “Immoderate attachment or devotion to something”.  Most of the time, we think of idolatry as a physical object, such as our phones or money. HOwever, our past can also become our obsession.

Idolizing my past mistakes, wounds and heartbreaks has been something I struggle with often. It starts to creep into my daily life and affect the decisions I’m making. It also steers me away from many relationships with people and I end up hurting them when I don’t intend to. But most of all, it pushes me away from God. Like Pastor Matthew talked about in one of his sermons, God is to be our number one priority above everything else in our life. How can we do that if we’re idolizing our past and emotional wounds?

The number one thing you have to to do is you have to let go and let God. Start by talking to God about your past, let Him know you’re willing to give it up to Him so that He may start to heal you. Once you start to talk to God, you will find the strength you need to pull through your past. 1 Peter 5:6-7 says:

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under Gods mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”

This verse is saying that God cares for you and wants to take your hurt and fill your heart with love. He wants to heal you. He knew your past was going to be messy but He still loves you more than you know, He still wants you in His family. You just need to let go, and let God.

 ” I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” –John 16:33

Leave a comment